Singapore Government
International Enterprise Singapore
Contact Info    |    Feedback    |    Site Map
 IE  Google  Red Nano
    ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA)  
    ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand FTA (AANZFTA)  
    ASEAN-China (ACFTA)  
    ASEAN-India (AIFTA)  
    ASEAN-Japan (AJCEP)  
    ASEAN-Korea (AKFTA)  
    Australia (SAFTA)  
    China (CSFTA)  
    Costa Rica (SCRFTA)  
    GCC (GSFTA)  
    Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan (SJFTA)  
    India (CECA)  
    Japan (JSEPA)  
    Korea (KSFTA)  
    New Zealand (ANZSCEP)  
    Panama (PSFTA)  
    Peru (PeSFTA)  
    Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland (ESFTA)  
    Trans-Pacific SEP (Brunei, New Zealand, Chile, Singapore)  
    United States (USSFTA)  
Home >> Singapore FTAs >> ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand FTA (AANZFTA)
  Overview of ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand FTA (AANZFTA)

The ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) Agreement was concluded and announced by Ministers in August 2008 in Singapore. It was signed on 27 February 2009.

The objectives of this Agreement are to:

liberalise and facilitate trade in goods;


progressively liberalise trade in services among the Parties, with substantial sectoral coverage;

(c) facilitate, promote and enhance investment opportunities among the Parties through further development of favourable investment environments;
(d) establish a co-operative framework for strengthening, diversifying and enhancing trade, investment and economic links among the Parties; and
(e) provide special and differential treatment to ASEAN Member States, especially to the newer ASEAN Member States, to facilitate their more effective economic integration.

The AANZFTA Agreement is the first comprehensive free trade agreement that ASEAN has signed with a Dialogue Partner. It is also the only one that has commitments in all three pillars of goods, services and investments.

The agreement covers trade in goods; rules of origin; customs procedures; services (including financial and telecommunications services); electronic commerce; movement of natural persons; investments; sanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) measures; standards, technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures; intellectual property; competition; economic cooperation; and a dispute settlement mechanism.

Indonesia will enter into force for AANZFTA by 10 January 2012, following her ratification on 11 November 2011. 

As such, AANZFTA has been ratified by all FTA member countries since 11 November 2011.
Click here to download Step-by-Step Guide to use AANZFTA
Benefits to Exporters
  Trade in Goods
  Rules of Origin
  Customs Documentation
  Mutual Recognition Goods
  Trade in Services
  Movement of Natural Persons
  Government Procurement
  Dispute Settlement
  Intellectual Property
  Legal Text


Last reviewed date 23 Jul 2014 |  Terms of UsePrivacy Statement | Rate this website 2014 International Enterprise Singapore